MLGFC - History

History of the Club 

Mourneabbey Ladies Gaelic Football Club was founded in 1974.

The club was founded in 1974 when a group of women in the local area of Mourneabbey expressed an interest in the relatively new sport, ladies football. There had been a camogie team in the parish prior to that however, once football started in the parish it flourished. There were a number of people involved in set up of the club such as Paddy O’ Mullane, Ina O’Callaghan, Rose Buckley, Nora Buckley, Chrissie Carey, Teresa Carey, Lisa Hanlon, Anne Bradford, Geraldine O’Connor & Liz O’Connor to name but a few. In the founding years, the team played in several local competitions and matches.

In 1991, the club had a very successful year and won the Junior B County Final. The club became strong again a decade later with success at underage level at the turn of the millennium. This success was the formula for the team’s triumph to All Ireland level in 2005, where they won Junior A County, Munster and All Ireland titles They beat Athgarvan of Kildare in the All Ireland Final of 2005. In 2007, Mourneabbey stepped up the tempo and achieved the same at Intermediate level for County, Munster and All Ireland. They beat Glen of Derry in the All Ireland Final of 2007.

In 2013 Mourneabbey Ladies Football Club had the following achievements:

Senior Team:

Won the Senior B County and Munster Championship

Junior C:

Reached the County 13 a side Quarter-Final


Won U21A County Championship Final


Reached County Minor A Championship Final


Reached Count U16B Championship Semi-Final

Won the North Cork Championship Final


Won the North Cork Championship Final


Won the North Cork Championship Final

U10 and U8:

These teams trained twice a week and played numerous games from March-November 2013.

Down through the years the Cub has had representation on Cork County Teams with both players and management.  In 2013, Mourneabbey were well represented at County Senior level with Roisin O’Sullivan, Ciara O’Sullivan, Maire O’Callaghan and Doireann O’Sullivan on the panel.

The club also had various girls representing the club at underage level with Cork teams in 2013. Doireann O’Sullivan, Laura Fitzgerald, Maedhbh O’Sullivan, Miriam O’Callaghan and Maire O’Callaghan represented the club at U18 level. Eimear Meaney, Laura Crowley, Jolene Forde and Ashling O’Sullivan represented the club at U16 level. Amy Twohig and Ashling O’Callaghan represented the club at U14 level in 2013.

The club won the Senior B County and Munster Championship in 2013 and hope to build on this for the coming season.

Mourneabbey Ladies Football Club would like to take this opportunity to thank club mentors, player and committee members for their continued dedication to the Club. 

Back to top